Dynamic Expense Reports and Reconciliation – Extend

Overview

Dynamic Expense Reports give finance teams a flexible, action-focused way to reconcile their organization’s physical and virtual card spend. Instead of rigid, one-size-fits-all reporting, these reports adapt to your billing cycle and workflow, letting you:

* Note: Dynamic Expense Reports are currently only available on web. Physical card transactions limited to select issuers

Viewing expenses for reconciliation

As transactions clear Owners, Admins, and Bookkeepers will be able to immediately view customizable report in the Accounting Section, Card Transactions.

  1. Select Accounting from the navigation and click Card Transactions

  1. Owners, Admins, and Bookkeepers will be taken to a list of transactions from the last 30 days

  2. Use the available filters to refine your report view. Users can filter by:

    • Card account
    • Date range, including statement cycle
    • Additional criteria including: missing receipts, missing categories, pending approvals, not synced, accounting platform sync status
  3. From within the Accounting > Card Transactions page, Owners, Admins, and Bookkeepers can:

    • Mark a transaction Reviewed, Flagged, or reset it to Pending
    • Send receipt reminders for missing receipts
    • Add or amend expense categories
    • Push transactions to your connected ERP (e.g., NetSuite, QuickBooks Online)

Note: Only organizations with a connected accounting platform, like Netsuite or Quickbooks Online, or required expense categories will be able to view and filter for missing expense categories.

Reconciling transactions

At any time Owner, Admin or Bookkeeper can select the transaction(s) they would like to review using the checkbox(es) on the left side of the cleared transactions list.

When transactions are selected, a bulk action menu bar will appear at the bottom of the screen, allowing users to update the transaction status.

Owners and Admins can modify the transaction review status at any time. Once a transaction has been marked as Approved, it can be updated and reset to Pending Approval or Flagged, as needed.

Syncing Transactions

Owners, Admins, and Bookkeepers can sync transactions to their connected accounting platform at any time simply select the transaction(s) you would like to sync using the checkbox(es) on the left side.

When transactions are selected, a bulk action menu bar will appear at the bottom of the screen, allowing users to sync their transactions to their connected accounting platform.

Once a transaction has been synced with your accounting platform, you can no longer edit the expense categories in Extend; this must be done in your accounting platform. You will, however, be able to modify the transaction review status in Extend.